All things hang gliding. This is the main forum. New users, introduce yourself.

Moderators: sg, mods

Hi All you Krazy Krazy Hanglider Dudes & Dudettes!

Business was good this year and I'm ahead of where I thought I would be financially. So I wonder, are the latest T2C's enough better than a 2011 T2 with about 50 hours on it that I wouldn't be totally wasting my money to trade up?

I'm a recreational pilot. I don't care about winning races, but I would like the best wing available. My T2 is really a phenomenal aircraft. What I'd hope for in a new wing is:

Lighter control pressures, both pitch and roll
Lighter weight, at least a bit
Faster, my T2 goes 56MPh full VG bar at my thighs, in a cocoon harness
Lower sink rate, hey why not?

I talked to Ken H., from Willswing after flying Zac Major's new purple glider, and I talked to Zac, who both said that there have been significant improvements. The mylar undersurface and the new inboard carbon leading edge were mentioned.

So what do you think? Has there really been a significant improvement during the last 5 years, or should I fly my current glider 'till it's a rag, and spend my money on hookers, whiskey & blow, or maybe my kid's college educations?

Push out,
/jd
By Jason
i have a 2010 era t2c.......I dont know what is going on with your t2, but it should go much better than 56 mph.........

that being said, if i had more money than god, id get a new one........
By Felix
A new glider (sail) even if exactly the same as yours (design and materials) will very likely perform better.

The new type of sail materials used now and the changes in sail cut, and the carbon components will most definitely give you a better glider all around.

Of course you could probably just update yours (new sail + maybe carbon options) and save some moneys...but if you're ready for a new toy and have the cash, what better use could you find for it than a brand spanking new, full options, sexy glider?? :mosh:
By ksykes