All techie stuff here
By Greg Vandenberg
Greetings fellow flying humans. My name is Gregory Vandenberg and I am a 43 year old aeronautical engineer based in Johannesburg South Africa. I have been 'evolving' human powered wings over the past 6 years and it has grown into an obsession. I call it a ‘Wingbike’ or ‘Skybike’ but its technical name is a human powered ornithopter. Basically, you push the pedal with your feet and the wings flap. I have been working on the project for six years and the latest test in January of this year demonstrated positive stability, extremely responsive control, loads of lift and structural integrity (phew!). The best way to describe the feeling (besides large amounts of pumping adrenalin!) is that you have inserted yourself into a birds skeleton with all control input and response intuitive to that mind frame. In other words it feels incredible…… watch the video clip
Windsurfers have been doing what they call ‘pumping the sail’ in low wind conditions to produce thrust for years. This action is identical to flapping and I am amazed that nobody has replicated this into an aircraft yet. Imagine two windsurfer sails joined at the mast base then strapped to your shoulders where angel wings would be.
The closer I get to actually flying like a bird, the greater the urgency to complete it........ because its so simple. It is a biomimicry aircraft that adapts a human body into a birds body, or more accurately a pterodactyl body. I have spanned a modified ww U2 sail over framework of my own design. The wings, hinged at the shoulders, are flapped or 'pumped' by the legs via a pedal attached to the flying wires. Control is effected by the arms anchored in the wings, and is intuitive to replacing your arms with wings. The entire aircraft, harness and all, weighs 28 kg. Yeah…… twenty eight kilograms………….. that’s 62 pounds at today’s exchange rate 