This forum is dedicated to discussions on how to grow the sport of hang gliding. We will take a methodical approach to collect data and come up with implementable ideas on how to increase our numbers. This includes effective marketing, lead generation, site access issues, improving regulations, lack of instructors, lack of sites, etc

Moderator: mods

By deeprecon1
I have no experience and don’t claim this is the fix all for others who are looking to fly in the seated position for comfort or medical reasons.

I talked with a 30yr plus pilot who has been flying in a Exofit harness made by Sala. The harness is designed for industrial safety “fall protection” with an addition seat. The set up looked simple, no need for a spreader bar.

I asked him to share his set up with HG community …. Hoping this will help someone out there who is unable to fly prone.

Exofit Tower Climbing Vest Style Harness (1108650)

http://dbi-sala-safety.com/fall-protection/sku-1108650/

By peanuts
glider rigged differently for seated flying. little thing called cg
By Alan
peanuts wrote:glider rigged differently for seated flying. little thing called cg
If the seated harness is hanging from the same point as the prone harness, why would the CG change?
By peanuts
ok. too fast an answer. how about rake of cb. perhaps that would be easier to understand
By zamuro
Alan wrote:
peanuts wrote:glider rigged differently for seated flying. little thing called cg
If the seated harness is hanging from the same point as the prone harness, why would the CG change?
The problem is the position that your arms end up relative to the hanging point and control bar. It would be different if you are seated, prone or supine. Also if you are seated (or supine) you cannot go through the control frame.as you can when prone (or suprone).
By Alan
OK that makes sense.

Is there a way to set up a glider to easily convert from prone to seated harnesses, or do the nose/rear wires actually have to change length?