All things hang gliding. This is the main forum. New users, introduce yourself.

Moderators: sg, mods

Odakyu-sen wrote: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:30 pm Do they have tandem ratings in Switzerland? Did the pilot have one? He certainly had no contingency plan (U-turn and uphill landing). Why in the world did he keep on heading out to deeper territory?
(Yes, I know that hindsight is a wonderful thing.)
The SHV-FSVL says they are dealing with the matter:
https://www.shv-fsvl.ch/en/federation/a ... -vom-2611/
On 26.11. Youtube video released is currently causing quite a stir. It can be seen that a Delta tandem pilot starts without its passenger being hung up. We would like to specify:

- Delta flying is - if done correctly - no dangerous sport.

- This video indicates a gross error. We go into the matter.

- The start check is essential for every flight.
Perhaps the pilot found his wife featured in Gursky's gallery...

NMERider wrote: Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:45 pm If I did for a living what Chris Gursky does for a living I'd have held my grip too.
https://chrisgurskyphotography.zenfolio.com/p721644240 :mosh: :mosh: :mosh:
The video was featured in a prominant newspaper site here in New Zealand yesterday. Already, one of our local hang glider instructors was contacted by the press for an interview, but wisely turned them down.

The reporters here are "journalists" in name only. If it bleeds, it leads.
Watching that video, all I could say, was wow....just wow! Obviously, no preflight hang check was performed. Whenever you do something strictly for the money, you tend to become complacent with doing it, over time and start to skip critical steps, but with anything that takes one up into the air, we should always, always, double check. Even as a passenger, I'm always checking my carabiner and hang straps. Geat job hanging on like you did, even though, I would've let go over that first closest tree top.