All things hang gliding. This is the main forum. New users, introduce yourself.

Moderators: sg, mods

By WhackityWhack
Ok, 1st, a disclaimer: I grew up in the Show-me-state so I don't automatically believe everything I'm told (or shown).

On several occasions, I've heard several very experienced pilots refer to a glider's "pitch curve". They are usually talking about the characteristics of a certain glider's design. I readily admit to them that I have no experience or knowledge of this aspect of HG aerodynamics so I have no idea what they are talking about. In other words, "save your breath until I figure out what you're talking about".

Now, I am familiar with Polar Curves and L/D curves and so forth. So, is a "Pitch Curve" a real thing or is it just pilot-speak?
By red
WhackityWhack wrote: Sun May 13, 2018 7:02 amOk, 1st, a disclaimer: I grew up in the Show-me-state so I don't automatically believe everything I'm told (or shown). On several occasions, I've heard several very experienced pilots refer to a glider's "pitch curve". They are usually talking about the characteristics of a certain glider's design. I readily admit to them that I have no experience or knowledge of this aspect of HG aerodynamics so I have no idea what they are talking about. In other words, "save your breath until I figure out what you're talking about".
Now, I am familiar with Polar Curves and L/D curves and so forth. So, is a "Pitch Curve" a real thing or is it just pilot-speak?
WhackityWhack,

Every airfoil has a pitch-curve. You can look them up on various aeronautical websites, but maybe you should use a wind tunnel to conduct your own evaluations, with pitch curves from your own tests. In general, the pitch curve of any airfoil would give an aircraft designer some idea of how large the tailplanes should be, or how far aft, on the proposed aircraft.