All things hang gliding. This is the main forum. New users, introduce yourself.

Moderators: sg, mods

By Hangskier
Does anyone know who the first instructors were/are and traced how many instructors between them and their instructor?

In the martial arts instructors are linked pretty close and I got to thinking what about hang gliding.
By gasdive
Hangskier wrote:Does anyone know who the first instructors were/are and traced how many instructors between them and their instructor?

In the martial arts instructors are linked pretty close and I got to thinking what about hang gliding.
Chris Boyce taught me and he was self taught. He's still teaching.

http://www.hanggliding.com.au/
By psilyguy
My instructor, Michael Robertson, has been teaching for over 40 yrs. I'm pretty sure he was self taught. He apparently was the inventor of the base bar wheels, and he created the RCR's, which are an amazing learning tool!
He's gotta be one of the first!
By ChattaroyMan
I taught a bit in the late 70s in and around Billings, MT (Beartooth Hang Gliders). I taught myself to fly and needed other pilots to go flying with! ....... Actually, I did take one 'lesson' in '75 in Spokane, WA from a fellow named Brent Rosengrant. After that I was on my own. A look back at old hang gliding magazines will turn up a wealth of who taught who and when. Pretty much anyone who had a 'school' advertised in Ground Skimmer magazine.
By Ken.de.Russy
That would be John Dickenson of Australia. He taught Bill Bennett and Bill Moyes in 1967. John Dickenson and Rod Fuller first flew on 8 September 1963. Actually Rod Fuller flew first just before John in 1963. The Dickenson wing is the proto-typical configuration that brought about the viral spread worldwide and made our sport, as we know it, possible. Rod flew first and Dickenson flew next. I bet Rod gave John some suggestions. So maybe Rod would qualify as the first instructor. That of course was towing the first modern hang glider behind a boat.