Interested in hang gliding? Currently learning to hang glide? Post your questions here.
This forum is open to unregistered users

Moderators: sg, mods

By Baitrunner
AeroTowing - or, how to aerotow?

I'm looking for advice from experienced aerotow HG pilots. I'm a new H2 (FL/CL) interested in AT. I have some scooter towing experience but realize that flying behind a tug is much different and more challenging. I've been trying to watch as many videos and read everything i can get my hands on about AT. Looking specifically at bar position at the start of the pull, and while flying (seems like you're pulled in a lot). Also, paying close attention to position behind the tug while flying straight and in turns. Any tips or advice you could offer to speed up my AT training when the time comes? I'll be AT training on a wing with permanently mounted landing gear below the control frame and on the keel so it's going to be very weird landing on wheels and not on my feet. Thanks in advance!
By Lucky_Chevy
Learning to aerotow isn't too difficult if you already know how to fly. The key element is maintaining position behind the tug. To get your AT sign off you will have multiple flights with an instructor and then several solo flights, ideally with the wing you normally fly.

To prepare, practice flying and maneuvering at higher speeds than normal. Tugs generally fly around 35 miles per hour. If you can control your wing and pilot it accurately at higher speeds without PIO the AT training will go smoothly.

I thought it was fun. I had never done a tandem before and sharing the experience with the instructor was very enjoyable.

Have fun,

Dan
By AIRTHUG
Use small inputs and return to center and wait a moment before doing more, there can be a slightly longer delay in response than normal... and you don't want to over-control into PIO.