Interested in hang gliding? Currently learning to hang glide? Post your questions here.
This forum is open to unregistered users

Moderators: sg, mods

By Mystery
Hello, my name is Val. I'm new to this, but very excited about flying. I bought this beauty very cheaply, but it's missing battens. What are my options? Is it possible to buy or make new battens? I do not know the model of my glider, but here is a picture. Thank you for your advice in advance.
Attachments
11121570_10152972982953732_5066321965215147572_o.jpg
11121570_10152972982953732_5066321965215147572_o.jpg (364.1 KiB) Viewed 2628 times
By waveview
Foot launched hang glider wings and powered microlight wings can look very similar but are designed for very different flight speeds and characteristics. Generally speaking a microlight wing will be totally unsuitable for foot launched flight work.

I am not familiar with the make or model of the wing shown in the attachment to your post, but I did notice that this wing uses twin wires running out to the wing from the control frame. I have only ever seen this double wire (belts and braces approach) used on the heavy engine powered microlight craft.

Trust you can do some research to find out what the make, model and age and normal (microlight or hang glider ) use of the wing is.
Last edited by waveview on Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
By red
Mystery wrote:Hello, my name is Val. I'm new to this, but very excited about flying. I bought this beauty very cheaply, but it's missing battens. What are my options? Is it possible to buy or make new battens? I do not know the model of my glider, but here is a picture. Thank you for your advice in advance.
Val,

Welcome to the pilot's evening campfire! Pull up a chair, and be among friends.