Interested in hang gliding? Currently learning to hang glide? Post your questions here.
This forum is open to unregistered users

Moderators: sg, mods

By KeLe
Hi all,
This is my first post on this forum, so first of all I am saying big thanks for accepting me and for all the useful info one can find here.
I am a H3 pilot, having about 35 hours of airtime and 130 flights. I fly a Vector from Thalhoffer, which is a 80% ds intermediate wing, w/o VG. I am planning to make a step to the next level this year, maybe by the end of the season.

I recently bought a U2, so this would be my first option for next wing. I also have a XC with very low airtime in my hangar.
My question is addressed mainly to those pilots, who have flown both of these two wings, but any input and advise is welcome.

What are your thoughts: would be a good idea to fly first the XC and only later the U2? Flying first the XC would help me making steps to be able to fly the U2, or not? I have found a lot of great comparisons between U2 and Sport 2, but no one between U2 and XC. I know XC is an older glider, but this is my situation.

Thanks in advance for you answers.
Sorry for my weak English.
By Mavi Gogun
KeLe,

The XC is an Advance rated hang glider. The U2 is an Intermediate rated hang glider. Since the best glide and sink rate are better on the U2, you might imagine it would be more difficult to land in a small field- but it's handling is vastly easier and more predictable than the XC, making for a much safer glider.

There's no contest- were I to direct a friend who had never flown before to escape a zombie horde or erupting volcano with one of these kites, I would recommend the U2 without a moment of hesitation.

Make your first flights in calm, unchallenging conditions at a site with an easy launch and an LZ that doesn't require turns. 35 hours isn't much to be stepping up to a U2- proceed with an abundance of caution.
By Paul H